Topic 2

Topic 2: Reflection

Something that struck me whilst reading other posts was how differently people interpreted the concept of multiple online identities. Catherine’s comment highlighted that in my post, I perceived multiple identities as adapting one’s behaviour to suit different social media platforms and audiences. In contrast, others saw it as having more than one profile within a social media platform, such as separate Twitter accounts for personal and professional. Upon reflection, my online identity can be perceived from both perspectives.

My Online Identity
Figure 1. My online identity – multiple or single?

Whilst my post focused mainly on the authenticity vs. anonymity debate, others explored different aspects, such as digital footprints. Jordan’s post emphasised the fact that many services on the web collect personal data even when we do not actively give out information, such as Google searches or browsing on Amazon. This sparked a discussion between myself and Carolina, and whilst we acknowledged the benefits of this from a marketing perspective, it’s clear that digital footprints can compromise user privacy.

To take this point further, Catherine explored the idea of data mining, which raises a whole host of issues to do with security. It is about getting the balance between feeling in control of personal data, and allowing data mining services to use personal data to benefit society. For example, to track disease outbreaks or identify threats of terrorism. These ideas made me question whether we can ever be totally anonymous on the web, even with multiple online identities. Taking the views of my peers into account, I have provided a brief summary of the pros and cons below.

Pros and Cons
Figure 2. Pros and cons of multiple online identities

Overall, I feel that Topic 2 has encouraged me to venture out of my comfort zone and has given me the confidence to have my own take on the issues involved. Not only has my understanding of the topic greatly improved, but through the creation of visual materials I have also gained competence in my use of graphic design tools. Below are some of the key learning points I have taken from this topic.

Managing Your Online Identity
Figure 3. Managing your online identity (click to view slideshow on Prezi)

(330 words)

Comments

Carolina’s post

Mark’s post

References

Internet Society. How can I manage my digital footprints?

Marcotte, B. (2017). Millions of tweets are a gold mine for data mining. University of Rochester.

Shaw, J. (2016). Twitter bans intel agencies from using terror detecting data mining service. Hot Air.

Figure References

Figure 1: Self-produced using Canva.

Figure 2: Self-produced using Piktochart.

Figure 3: Self-produced using Prezi.

Leave a Reply

